Camera Club names 2017 Kurtzberg award winners


The Camera Club of Hilton Head Island has named four students at Hilton Head Island High School winners of the 2017 Kurtzberg Awards.

First place, with a $200 prize, was awarded to Sarah Sugg for "Black Out Girl." Raechel Schroeder won $150 for "Paint Girl," which took second place, and the third place prize of $100 was awarded to Olivia Allain for "Essence." A $50 prize for honorable mention went to Jordan Sugg for "Sparks of Light."

More than 45 students from the high school competed in the annual Kurtzberg Awards, named for the late Dr. Larry Kurtzberg, who in 1987 was the first president and founder of the Camera Club of Hilton Head Island. The Kurtzberg Memorial Award was established in 1998 in his honor to recognize students from Hilton Head Island High School enrolled in the visual arts department's photography courses. The students submit color or black and white photos to be judged against their peers.

"We were very impressed with the outstanding quality of the images submitted by these young photographers," said Kendra Natter, chairperson of the Kurtzberg Award committee for the Camera Club. "It is our pleasure to support these students through the annual Kurtzberg Awards."

The awards were presented at the club's meeting March 28. All winners are current students of photography teacher Patty Scholkopf-Lewis.

"Shutter Up and Say OLLI, " a gallery night featuring photos from club members and the Kurtzberg Award students' winning photos, was held March 29 at the Osher Lifelong Learning Institute, 2 Mathews Court, Hilton Head Island. The photos will be on display through June.

Read more from:
Arts & Entertainment
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: